Medal of Honor

Perennial Plant Association

Awarded for outstanding service to horticulture

2008 Winner:  Steven M. Still

Professor of landscape horticulture at Kansas State University and The Ohio State University for more than three decades years, Dr. Still in 1984 founded and continues as executive director of the Perennial Plant Association, which provides continuing horticultural education for the herbaceous industry nationally and internationally.  The Ohio-based association connects professionals, provides education and promotes perennial plants among growers, retailers, landscape designers and contractors, educators and other industry professionals.  For more than 30 years, the organization has held a large, multi-day Perennial Plan Symposium and sponsors the well-known Perennial Plant of the Year designation to showcase a standout perennial.

W. Raap

2014 Winner:  Will Raap

Mr. Raap is founder of The Gardener’s Supply Company, among the world’s largest online and catalog gardening retailers.  Additionally, through the founding and leadership of several nonprofit entities ranging from Vermont to Costa Rica, he focuses on local food, renewable energy and land restoration enterprises that support a more resilient economy and more sustainable future.  He received the Medal of Honor for his life’s work of innovative thinking and integrating business expertise with environmentally sustainable practices restoring the soil and soul of Mother Earth.

Photo credit:  Gardener’s Supply Company